Conroe ISD Congratulates High School SCI://TECH Winners

By: Sarah D. Blakelock
| Published 02/14/2024


CONROE, TX -- Conroe ISD is proud to recognize the outstanding achievements of its students at the Chevron Phillips Chemical Co. Senior High Science Fair as part of the Education for Tomorrow Alliance SCI://TECH Exposition.

The Grand Winners are listed with the topic of their presentation, followed by the category winners for both ninth grade and senior high divisions. AST is the Academy of Science and Technology at College Park High School, while ASHP is the Academy for Science and Health Professions at Conroe High School.

Winners will advance to the Science & Engineering Fair of Houston Saturday, February 17 at the Fort Bend Epicenter.

Grand Winners

9th Grade Life

Joshua Staub & Shriya Venkat (AST) – Testing a Possible Alternative to Antibiotics Against Escherichia Coli

9th Grade Physical

Maaz Kattangere (AST) – Mitigating the Risk of Large Language Model Hallucinations Through Transformer-Based Embeddings and a Sentence Similarity Model

9th Grade Engineering

Aniket Chakraborty (AST) – BlindSight: Applying Deep Learning Using Optical Character Recognition and Classification to Design a Vision System to Aid Visually Impaired Patients

Senior High Life

Sai Balaji (AST) – Pioneering Predictions: A Novel AI Approach Using Heart Rate Variability for Sepsis and SIRS Detection

Senior High Physical

Shivani Mundra & Madelyn Puza (AST) – Engineering an Inexpensive and Sustainable Cellulosic Battery Composition

Senior High Engineering

Henry Aceves & Donovan Burke (AST) – ArmAssist: A Lighweight, Concealable Active Arm Support that Empowers Individuals Suffering from Muscle Atrophy

Ninth Grade Category Winners

Phoenix Walkup – Animal Science – ASHP

Sarah Miertschin – Behavioral/Social Science – AST

Joshua Staub & Shriya Venkat – Biochemistry/Microbiology – AST

Matthew Cusano – Chemistry – AST

Ava Jackson – Earth & Environmental – ASHP

Adil Mansury, Vidipsai Pitta & Umran Zaidi – Energy & Transportation – AST

Gregorio Souza Gomes – Engineering: Aerospace – AST

Cayson Wang – Engineering: Biomedical – AST

William Li & Krushal Panda – Engineering: Chemical & Material Science – AST

Jose Barrios – Engineering: Embedded Systems – AST

Spencer Howell & Ian Jeong – Engineering: Environmental – AST

Krishna Somasundaram – Engineering: Mechanical – AST

Aniket Chakraborty – Engineering: Robotics & Intelligent Machines – AST

Yilin Guo – Mathematics – The Woodlands HS

William Quarles – Medicine & Health – ASHP

Japesh Banker & Aarav Nargund – Physics & Astronomy – AST

Adelynn Purcell – Plant Science – ASHP

Maaz Kattangere – Systems Software – AST

Senior High Category Winners

Iris Shen – Animal Science – AST

Mia Wang – Behavioral/Social Science – AST

Patrick McKenna – Biochemistry/Microbiology – AST

Shivani Mundra & Madelyn Puza – Chemistry – AST

Justin Huang & Victoria Ou – Earth & Environmental – AST

Inu Baek – Energy & Transportation – AST

Kaitlyn Bird – Engineering: Aerospace – AST

Rohan Mehta & Roshan Mehta – Engineering: Biomedical – AST

Raj Mhetar – Engineering: Chemical & Material Science – AST

Siddharth Jain – Engineering: Embedded Systems – AST

Chase Gomez & Srinayan Kumbham – Engineering: Environmental – AST

Henry Aceves & Donovan Burke – Engineering: Mechanical – AST

Asong Suh – Engineering: Robotics & Intelligent Machines – AST

Rohit Pillutla – Mathematics – AST

Sai Balaji – Medicine & Health – AST

Jesse Miller – Physics & Astronomy – AST

Anshul Desai & Felix Li – Plant Science – AST

Rayhan Papar – Systems Software – AST