2016 Whistle Stop Tour to meet the candidates

By: Conroe Today Staff
| Published 02/10/2016


THE WOODLANDS, Texas - The 2016 Meet the Candidates Whistle Stop Tour, organized by the Woodlands Area Chamber of Commerce, presented twenty-one candidates in attendance to an audience of over one hundred. Hosted at the Lone Star College System Conference Center, the event provided an opportunity for voters to mingle with the candidates in an informal meet and greet, followed by a luncheon and candidate speeches.

Linda Nelson of Memorial Hermann The Woodlands Hospital, welcomed candidates and the community in her official capacity as Legislative Team Leader and also for the Whistle Stop Tour, in addition to the Business Advocacy Council Team Lead.

Kenna Seiler, Attorney-at-Law of the Seiler Law Firm, was called upon to lead the congregation in the Pledge of Allegiance to the American and Texas flags.

Chamber Chairman, Keaton McDaniel, and Melanie Bush, CISD Trustee, emceed the event.

Candidates were allotted two minutes to introduce themselves and their platform. Some seized the opportunity to take target at incumbents’ records of service.

“It was time well spent,” said Royce Brooks, Chamber Board Member and Vice President of Committed Volunteers. “It was a great opportunity to hear from most of the candidates running in the March Primary, in one setting.”

The twenty-one candidates who were present, and the positions they’re running for, included the following:

Justice, Supreme Court, Place 5:
Rick Green

Judge, Court of Criminal Appeals, Place 6:
Michael E. Keasler

Member, State Board of Education, District 8:
Barbara Cargill

State Representative, District 3:
Cecil Bell

State Representative, District 15:
Mark Keough

District Judge, 9th Judicial District:
Phil Grant
Eric Yollick
Kate Shipman Bihm

District Judge, 410th Judicial District:
Jennifer James Robin
Chuck Meyer
Kristin Bays

District Judge, 435th Judicial District:
Thomas Brewer III
Mike Seiler
Patty Maginnis

County Attorney
J.D. Lambright

Rand Henderson
Jim Napolitano

County Tax Assessor-Collector:
Tammy J. McRae

County Commissioner, Precinct No. 3:
Jay Mac Sanders
James Noack

Constable, Precinct No. 2
Gene DeForest

None of the candidates running in the U.S. Representative, District 8 race were present, but Congressman Brady sent his regrets and a spokesperson to represent him. Amy Milstead, President of Milstead Automotive, spoke on behalf of Congressman Brady, who was in Washington D.C. to chair the first meeting of the year for the Ways and Means Committee.

Upon conclusion of the forum, the candidates continued to mingle with the attendees and answer questions.

“To their credit, none of the candidates rushed off. They stayed until everyone left,” said Brooks.

The candidates are hosting individual ‘meet and greet’ fundraisers, but the Whistle Stop Tour is the only forum to meet the majority of them in one fell swoop. For individual fundraising events to meet the candidate of your choice, visit the Woodlands Online Calendar of Events.