House Moves to Fund Military & Increase Troop Pay

By: Tracee Evans, Communications Director for Rep. Kevin Brady (TX-8)
| Published 07/08/2016


WASHINGTON, D.C. - Today, House Speaker Paul Ryan (R-WI) appointed 44 House Republican lawmakers to serve on a bipartisan conference committee charged with producing a final National Defense Authorization Act to fund the military and secure the homeland.

This legislation gives our military the tools and funding it needs to do its job and keep Americans safe,” said Speaker Ryan. “It also gives our men and women in uniform a well-deserved raise. If there’s anyone who deserves an increase in pay, it’s those who risk their lives every day for the safety of this country. I’m proud of the work done so far, and I look forward to sending this bill to the president’s desk.”

The House Republican conferees for this legislation are:

Committee on Armed Services
Chairman Mac Thornberry (R-TX)
Rep. Randy Forbes (R-VA)
Rep. Jeff Miller (R-FL)
Rep. Joe Wilson (R-SC)
Rep. Frank LoBiondo (R-NJ)
Rep. Rob Bishop (R-UT)
Rep. Michael Turner (R-OH)
Rep. John Kline (R-MN)
Rep. Mike Rogers (R-AL)
Rep. Trent Franks (R-AZ)
Rep. Bill Shuster (R-PA)
Rep. Mike Conaway (R-TX)
Rep. Doug Lamborn (R-CO)
Rep. Rob Wittman (R-VA)
Rep. Christopher Gibson (R-NY)
Rep. Vicky Hartzler (R-MO)
Rep. Joseph Heck (R-NV)
Rep. Elise Stefanik (R-NY)

Permanent Select Committee on Intelligence
Chairman Devin Nunes (R-CA)
Rep. Mike Pompeo (R-KS)

Committee on Energy & Commerce
Rep. Robert Latta (R-OH)
Rep. Bill Johnson (R-OH)

Committee on Education & the Workforce
Rep. Tim Walberg (R-MI)
Rep. Brett Guthrie (R-KY)

Committee on Foreign Affairs
Chairman Ed Royce (R-CA)
Rep. Lee Zeldin (R-NY)

Committee on Homeland Security
Chairman Michael McCaul (R-TX)
Rep. Dan Donovan (R-NY)

Committee on the Judiciary
Chairman Bob Goodlatte (R-VA)
Rep. Darrell Issa (R-CA)

Committee on Natural Resources
Rep. Paul Cook (R-CA)
Rep. Cresent Hardy (R-NV)

Committee on Oversight & Government Reform
Chairman Jason Chaffetz (R-UT)
Rep. Steve Russell (R-OK)

Committee on Science, Space, & Technology
Chairman Lamar Smith (R-TX)
Rep. Randy Weber (R-TX)

Committee on Small Business
Chairman Steve Chabot (R-OH)
Rep. Steve Knight (R-CA)

Committee on Transportation & Infrastructure
Rep. Duncan Hunter (R-CA)
Rep. David Rouzer (R-NC)

Committee on Veterans’ Affairs
Rep. David Roe (R-TN)
Rep. Mike Bost (R-IL)

Committee on Ways & Means
Chairman Kevin Brady (R-TX)
Rep. Dave Reichert (R-WA)